Just as Important as the Hot Dogs and Popcorn …

The York Revolution recently played a 15-inning game and Darrell Henry provided this image on his Twitter account later that evening.

The York Revolution recently played a 15-inning game and Darrell Henry provided this image on his Twitter account later that evening.

WILMINGTON, North Carolina – So, I know I have been very bad about writing in this blog (in fact, I think the last time I wrote something was before my wife and I moved down to the Port City … more on that later this week).

But, recently, with the baseball season in full swing, I have been itching to go to games. And while I have been able to attend a dozen games thus far, I still want to get to more games, which I hope to in the coming months.

Not only do I like to go to games, but I also like to keep score at games. To me, keeping a scorecard is just as important as getting a hot dog or popcorn while watching a game. I may be a person who is in the minority now with the ability to see live stats on your phone instantly. But, to me, keeping score allows me to pay more attention to what is going on.

Another thing related to that is I have been intrigued in seeing different scorecards and how different people keep score. With my job, I usually have that ability since I deal with broadcasters throughout the year. I also scan through the Internet and Twitter to see when different broadcasters showcase their scorecards. Usually, it’s because they just finished a lengthy game or something out-of-the-ordinary happens.

As you can see, this is a way for a broadcaster, media member or fan to remember what is going on. It’s almost like a free souvenir because you can take it home and keep it for your memory.

But, for more on how scorekeeping at baseball is important, here are a couple of links to articles that I have found recently. I think you will find these interesting (if you are a baseball fan anyway).

ESPN.com — http://espn.go.com/mlb/story/_/id/9605976/keeping-score-baseball-ultimate-art-form
New York Yankees — http://m.yankees.mlb.com/news/article/127100622/michael-kay-finds-data-and-solace-in-scorebook

I hope this all makes sense. For me, the perfect night at the ballpark is with a hot dog, a soda and a scorecard.

Until next time …


About Eric Rhew

Media Relations Manager at Athletes Unlimited || Former College SID || Baltimore Orioles & Washington Capitals Fan || Baltimore native who thinks Chaps Pit Beef is the best food ever!!
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment