Plenty of Reasons to Reflect

WILMINGTON, Del. – While it may seem a bit early to reflect on the 2012 calendar year (we do have nearly three weeks until New Year’s Eve, right?), I thought it was about time to put into words what the last 12 months and more importantly, the last two weeks, have meant to me.

To say that 2012 has been a roller coaster would be an absolute understatement. The year has seen its shares of ups and downs. While it started down, it slowly made its way back up and has stayed at a very high point for the last few months.

As many people know, I left my alma mater in March to pursue a new opportunity at a school in Delaware. Who knew that it would be a blessing in disguise? The last nine months from a professional standpoint have been fantastic and have given me a new found energy and passion for a job that I honestly thought about leaving at the start of the year.

Now, I walk into my office every morning ready to tackle the day’s challenges and I have people around me who are supportive and share the same vision I do. To those people, I simply say thank you and tell you that we have many more things to accomplish in the upcoming year.

And while the professional part of the year is important, it can’t even come close to the success of life outside of the office.

If you were to ask me five years ago if I would ever ask someone to marry me, you probably would have gotten some sarcastic answer about pigs flying or monkeys flying from somewhere that is not appropriate for public.

Erin and I after I proposed to her at Rockefeller Center in New York.

Erin and I after I proposed to her at Rockefeller Center in New York.

But, on Dec. 1 of this year, something magical happened – I asked the love of my life, Erin, to be my wife when we went on a day trip to New York. And she said yes!

While I have been able to do a lot of cool things in my professional life because of my job, none of them could possibly hold a candle to proposing to Erin. We have been together two years and needless to say, without her by my side, there is ABSOLUTELY no way I could have survived this year.

Erin (and her cat, Evie) has been by my side through my darkest days and when she agreed to move with me to Wilmington in March, it sealed the fact that I found my soul mate. Things have not always been easy with us (show me a relationship that is perfect and I will be surprised), but our love for each other has allowed us to get through it all.

And this past Monday, she surprised me with yet another reason as to why she is so wonderful. She is in the process of giving me one of the coolest Christmas gifts (or sets of gifts) that I have ever received – her own version of the 12 Days of Christmas.

Erin’s thoughtfulness and creativity have proven that the only thing that matters about giving or receiving gifts is the thought behind them. While we are only 4 days into the series, I can say that her gifts are better than anything I have ever received because she they are heartfelt and genuine.

To recap to this point (because I know you want to know), I have received the following …

Day 1 – a $10 Wawa gift card (I am a sucker for their sandwiches)
Day 2- 2 tickets to the movie “Playing for Keeps”
Day 3 – a tin with 3 different types of popcorn
Day 4 – 4 Reese’s Peanut Butter Trees

Erin’s thought behind each of these gifts means just as much as the gift itself. I get them every morning when I wake up and get ready for work and that small gesture on her part sets me up to enjoy the rest of the day.

I have no idea how I will ever be able to match that kind and awesome set of gifts, but one of these days, I will find a way.

So, I have been very fortunate to be able to end the 2012 year better than it started. And I am looking forward to seeing what 2013 brings. It should be a very exciting year with many things to come.

May everyone have a great holiday season. I know mine is off to a great start already.

Until next time …

About Eric Rhew

Media Relations Manager at Athletes Unlimited || Former College SID || Baltimore Orioles & Washington Capitals Fan || Baltimore native who thinks Chaps Pit Beef is the best food ever!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment