Having a Senior Moment

tow1

2018 UNCW Women’s Soccer Senior Class

WILMINGTON, North Carolina – An athlete’s career is like a story. There’s a beginning, a middle and an end.

For most athletes, the end usually comes either in high school or college at the conclusion of the athlete’s senior year. The student-athletes are usually recognized with a ceremony of some sort at their final home game, allowing them one last chance to be recognized for their career accomplishments.

It’s usually a bittersweet time for those student-athletes. It signifies the end of a major part of his or her life while allowing them to reflect on their careers as an athlete.

I have been involved in high school and college athletics for nearly half of my life, which has given me a chance to attend many “Senior Day” ceremonies due to my work in athletic communications. In most cases, I have been responsible for writing the scripts and organizing details for those ceremonies.

I was never honored as part of the “Senior Day” ceremonies I attended during my high school and college days and frankly, I never expected to be recognized. While I was involved with many teams during my high school and college days, I never stepped on the field or the court, so why should I have been recognized?

No matter how many years go by, it’s always tough to go through these senior recognition moments with the teams I work with now. Over the span of four years, you begin to build working relationships with these men and women and in some cases, you become their friends. It’s tough to see them having something to an end, but you are excited to know they are going to take on the world and make a difference.

As I go through my fourth full year at UNCW, I am reaching the point where the seniors I have watched be recognized over the last several months were just freshmen when I first started working with their respective teams. It’s almost like I am participating in these ceremonies with them, but I know I am just a spectator watching these outstanding student-athletes get the recognition they deserve.

Just like I try to keep the “Senior Day” script brief, I am going to keep this post brief. After all, the highlights are the most important thing.

Until next time …

About Eric Rhew

Media Relations Manager at Athletes Unlimited || Former College SID || Baltimore Orioles & Washington Capitals Fan || Baltimore native who thinks Chaps Pit Beef is the best food ever!!
This entry was posted in Life, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment